Nutrition Workshop at the WRC

Happy New Years!

If you’re anything like me, you keep making the same new year’s resolutions or same goals and always fall short half way through the year. In society, there is a constant pressure to be what is considered “fit” or “healthy”. These words have various meanings that are applicable on an individual basis, however, nutrition can play a huge factor in how well our body functions. What we put into our bodies is important. Personally, I don’t want to follow a strict diet however the diet culture can have a detrimental effect on people in society not allowing them to feel comfortable eating. There are times I want to eat what I want when I want, but I am embarrassed and think how someone might see me eating unhealthily. But, I need the tools to know that I am still eating the food my body needs to stay healthy and active, but also allowing myself to eat ice cream or a cookie every once in awhile. Without promoting negative body image or guilt, we would like to present tools to people who are interested in how to alter their diet in ways that benefit them most. On January 24th, the UNM Women’s Resource Center will be holding a nutrition workshop with Kristina Velasquez from 3:00 pm- 4:00 pm in the group room in the Women’s Resource Center. Know that we are here to support you in all of your goals of 2017.

Leave a Reply

